Delinquency research · dataset 2026.08
Shut-off and delinquency information for Dalton Utilities - Water Division
Only provider-specific public findings are stated as policy. A missing field is not replaced with a rule borrowed from another utility.
Provider-specific findings
Delinquency research for this provider
The notes below may document a rule or explain a specific public-information limit. Any active notice and direct provider confirmation remain controlling.
- Grace period
- Payment is due within 10 days of the bill date; the late rule applies at 8:00 a.m. on the day after the due date, effectively providing the stated 10-day payment window but no additional grace period.
- Late-fee rules
- If the bill is not paid by 8:00 a.m. on the following day after the due date, a 5% late penalty is added to the current bill amount. Returned payments incur $25 or 5%, whichever is greater; after two returned payments, checks are no longer accepted and payment must be cash, money order or debit/credit card. The customer remains responsible even if a mailed bill is not received.
- Shut-off timeline
- The public application says failure to pay by the indicated due date can interrupt service and that reconnection requires the delinquent balance and reconnection fee in full. It does not publish a fixed day-by-day calendar from the late penalty to field shutoff; a customer receiving a cut-off notice must call 706-278-1313 before relying on a kiosk payment.
- Warning and notice protocol
- Dalton Utilities refers to a cut-off notice and requires customers who have received one to contact the office. The reviewed page does not specify whether the warning is mailed, automated by phone, texted or posted at the door, nor does it state the number of notices before termination.
- Reconnection costs
- The current public application requires a reconnection fee in addition to the full delinquent balance but does not state the fee amount or an after-hours differential. A tampering restoration additionally requires a $75-$150 tampering fee; ordinary after-hours pricing is not publicly documented.
Documentation context
5 of 5 fields found
This is a record-completeness measure, not a customer-protection grade.
Georgia
26%
records with any shut-off detail
National
34%
records with any shut-off detail
Research record
Broad public detail found
5 of 5 fields in this section contain provider-specific public detail in dataset August 1, 2026.
Documented
100%
Primary verification routes
- Dalton Utilities - Water Division public website ↗
Provider-controlled destination used to confirm current customer instructions.
- EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System ↗
Federal background on public water-system records and their limitations.
