Independent directory · evidence, sources, and research gaps shown
US Water Bill PayIndependent U.S. utility directory
← Utility research profile

Delinquency research · dataset 2026.08

Shut-off and delinquency information for City of Evanston Water, Sewer & Sanitation Services / City Collector's Office

Only provider-specific public findings are stated as policy. A missing field is not replaced with a rule borrowed from another utility.

Provider-specific findings

Delinquency research for this provider

The notes below may document a rule or explain a specific public-information limit. Any active notice and direct provider confirmation remain controlling.

Grace period
Payment is due early in the first week of the month after the billing month; the 2026 bill states that the 10% penalty applies if payment is not received by 5:00 p.m. on the due date.
Late-fee rules
A 10% penalty applies to water, sewer, and sanitation charges when payment has not been received by 5:00 p.m. on the due date. The 2026 bill and eBilling page do not publish an additional percentage or escalating interest schedule.
Shut-off timeline
Service will be discontinued if the bill remains unpaid for more than 30 days after the due date shown on the statement. Restoration requires all arrears plus a $25 charge during regular service; after-hours restoration carries a $75 charge.
Warning and notice protocol
Evanston's 2026 bill states the due date, 10% penalty, and more-than-30-days-after-due-date discontinuation rule. The reviewed public eBilling page does not specify a universal call, text, door-hanger, or colored-mailer sequence; customers should use 311 to request a payment arrangement or dispute/high-usage review before the cutoff.
Reconnection costs
$25 additional charge to reinstate water service during regular service, after all arrears are paid; $75 if water is turned on after hours. The current public page does not state a separate night/weekend schedule beyond the after-hours amount.

Documentation context

5 of 5 fields found

This is a record-completeness measure, not a customer-protection grade.

Illinois

15%

records with any shut-off detail

National

34%

records with any shut-off detail

See the nationwide customer-protection analysis →

Research record

Broad public detail found

5 of 5 fields in this section contain provider-specific public detail in dataset August 1, 2026.

Documented

100%

Primary verification routes