Independent directory · evidence, sources, and research gaps shown
US Water Bill PayIndependent U.S. utility directory
← Florida utility index
Municipal DepartmentDataset 2026.08

City of Ocala Utilities – Water and Wastewater

City of Ocala and City of Ocala Utilities service territory

Population reference

Approximately 64,000 City residents are within Ocala's municipal service area. The City utility may also serve premises outside city limits under its published outside-city surcharge rules; the exact active water-account population is not stated on the current Water Resources page.

Billing detail

Broad public detail found

Official destination

Open provider website ↗

Provider-specific findings

Billing and account research from public material

Provider-specific research notes are displayed separately from fields that contain only an unavailable-information marker. Read qualifiers in each note and verify current account terms with the provider.

Billing frequency
Monthly utility billing for traditional accounts. The City statement shows a service period and meter read dates; the City also operates a separate prepaid billing program in which the account balance is replenished through MyUsage auto-recharge.
Rate structure
Metered water and wastewater charges with residential base rates and increasing consumption tiers, plus location/service-specific charges and a 25% outside-Ocala-city-limits surcharge where applicable. The City approved a 5.0% residential water-and-sewer rate increase effective October 1, 2025; its public notice says an average residential customer using 6,000 gallons would see an approximate $4.33 monthly increase. Current statement materials show water billed by cubic feet, with rate lines such as the continuing 10,001-cubic-foot-and-above tier; the full FY2026 table should be treated as controlling.
Residential cost reference
The City states that the October 1, 2025 residential rate increase raises the typical 6,000-gallon customer's bill by approximately $4.33 per month, but the browser-readable current notice does not expose the complete water-plus-wastewater base and tier table needed to produce a defensible standalone 5,000-gallon total. The record therefore preserves the City's $4.33 FY2026 change benchmark rather than inventing a combined price.
Wastewater and sewer calculation
Wastewater is a separately metered-service component on the City's municipal services statement and is billed with water usage under the City rate schedule. A current Ocala ordinance addresses excessive residential or commercial water usage caused by a qualifying leak and applies the residential remaining consumption at the lowest 0–1,400-cubic-foot water rate after the adjustment calculation; the current public page does not state a universal winter-average sewer formula. Customers should request a leak/high-consumption review from Customer Service and Water Resources.
Meter reading
Ocala's municipal statement identifies AMR meter reads and provides a usage graph; the Water Resources department also promotes EyeOnWater for usage monitoring. Traditional accounts are billed monthly, and the statement identifies current/prior read dates and cubic-foot consumption. The public material does not state a universal AMI vendor or hourly interval, and prepaid accounts are monitored through MyUsage rather than a conventional monthly statement.
New-account deposit
Ocala's residential utility contract states that the residential deposit requirement is two times the average monthly bill. The City code permits transfer of a deposit between addresses when the customer has a good payment record, while poor-pay history can require a new or adjusted deposit; management may approve review or an installment period of up to 12 months. The current public pages do not state a single dollar value because the amount depends on the service package and average bill.
Activation or transfer fee
The City provides start, stop, and transfer service through Customer Service and the InvoiceCloud/municipal-service portal. The current public customer pages do not publish a universal residential activation or transfer fee; deposit requirements are separate and generally equal to two times the average monthly bill. Any site visit, meter work, disconnect/reconnect, same-day request, or outside-city service order may carry the published service-specific charge.

Context, not a score

How documentation coverage compares

This profile

100%

overview fields with research notes

Florida

60%

records with any overview detail

National index

50%

records with any overview detail

Coverage measures what this directory documented. It does not measure service quality, affordability, or regulatory compliance.

Research record

Broad public detail found

7 of 7 fields in this section contain provider-specific public detail in dataset August 1, 2026.

Documented

100%

Primary verification routes