ANN ARBOR
ANN ARBOR
Population reference
123851 people (EPA SDWIS 2026Q2 active CWS estimate for MI0000220)
Billing detail
Broad public detail found
Official destination
Open provider website ↗Provider-specific findings
Billing and account research from public material
Provider-specific research notes are displayed separately from fields that contain only an unavailable-information marker. Read qualifiers in each note and verify current account terms with the provider.
- Billing frequency
- Quarterly for the vast majority of residential water customers.
- Rate structure
- Increasing quarterly block tiers: 1-9 CCF $2.86/CCF, 10-18 CCF $4.58, 19-36 CCF $10.61, and over 36 CCF $22.76, plus a fixed water customer charge. Rates effective July 1, 2026.
- Residential cost reference
- Approx. $40.41/month before the 10% on-time discount for a standard residential meter using 5,000 gallons/month, calculated from the July 1, 2026 water charge of $33.75/quarter, sewer charge of $6.92/CCF plus $17.44/quarter, stormwater charge of $4.67/quarter, and 5,000 gallons ≈ 6.684 CCF. Actual bills vary with sewer averaging and property-specific stormwater fees.
- Wastewater and sewer calculation
- Sewer is $6.92/CCF plus a $17.44 quarterly sewer customer charge. Summer sewer is based on winter water use, so irrigation does not automatically increase the sewer component in the same way. Stormwater adds $4.67/quarter plus a property-specific discharge fee.
- Meter reading
- Ann Arbor has used advanced metering infrastructure for more than 15 years. RF meter transmitter units communicate wirelessly, provide daily usage and leak alerts, and feed AquaHawk. The opt-out material lists $132 one-time relocation, or $252 setup plus $66 quarterly manual reading for removal/display alternatives; a standard reading date was not stated.
- New-account deposit
- The published utility-code rule allows a tenant deposit of twice the average quarterly bill, with a minimum deposit of $18. Current credit-waiver and refund timing rules were not stated in the reviewed customer-facing materials.
Context, not a score
How documentation coverage compares
This profile
86%
overview fields with research notes
Michigan
36%
records with any overview detail
National index
50%
records with any overview detail
Coverage measures what this directory documented. It does not measure service quality, affordability, or regulatory compliance.
Research record
Broad public detail found
6 of 7 fields in this section contain provider-specific public detail in dataset August 1, 2026.
Documented
86%
Details not confirmed in the reviewed public material
- Activation or transfer fee
“Not confirmed” means the directory did not identify a dependable public statement. It does not mean the provider has no policy or option.
Primary verification routes
- ANN ARBOR public website ↗
Provider-controlled destination used to confirm current customer instructions.
- EPA SDWIS / ECHO lookup (MI0000220) ↗
Search the federal drinking-water database using public water system ID MI0000220.
