Independent directory · evidence, sources, and research gaps shown
US Water Bill PayIndependent U.S. utility directory
← Virginia utility index
Municipal DepartmentDataset 2026.08PWS ID VA3800805

City of Suffolk Department of Public Utilities

City of Suffolk, including the municipal water and sanitary sewer service area

Population reference

69,822 people (EPA SDWIS queue estimate for VA3800805)

Billing detail

Broad public detail found

Official destination

Open provider website ↗

Provider-specific findings

Billing and account research from public material

Provider-specific research notes are displayed separately from fields that contain only an unavailable-information marker. Read qualifiers in each note and verify current account terms with the provider.

Billing frequency
Monthly utility billing is the standard municipal account cycle; the current public pages identify bill due dates and delinquency timing but do not publish a universal calendar date for every service route.
Rate structure
Metered water and sewer charges using CCF, where 1 CCF equals 748 gallons, plus daily meter charges and the Hampton Roads Sanitation District wastewater-treatment component. Effective July 1, 2026, residential meter charge is $0.584 per day, water is $12.29 per CCF, sewer collection is $7.97 per CCF, HRSD minimum is $0.45 per day and HRSD treatment is $9.84 per CCF. Unmetered alternatives are published separately at 5 CCF.
Residential cost reference
At approximately 5,000 gallons (6.68 CCF), the July 1, 2026 schedule produces roughly $100.20 in water usage, $18.10 in the 31-day residential meter charge, $53.25 in sewer collection, $13.95 in HRSD treatment and $13.95 in the HRSD daily minimum, or about $199 before taxes, billing-period variation and other account charges. A 7,000-gallon month is approximately $259 before those adjustments.
Wastewater and sewer calculation
Sewer collection is billed from the same metered CCF intake as water at $7.97 per CCF, with a separate HRSD treatment charge of $9.84 per CCF and a $0.45-per-day HRSD minimum. The reviewed Suffolk schedule does not state a winter-average cap or flat percentage tie-in; sewer is therefore a direct metered-volume calculation plus fixed daily treatment and meter components.
Meter reading
Suffolk's FY2027-2036 capital plan includes ongoing water-meter upgrades, but the reviewed public utility pages do not identify a complete AMI/AMR fleet, transmission interval or route-reading schedule. Bills are based on metered CCF usage; customers should ask Customer Service about the meter at a specific address.
Activation or transfer fee
The FY2026-2027 fee schedule lists a $10 new-account setup charge. Separate connection and availability charges apply when a new service connection is installed; the standard residential water connection charge shown is $2,000 when installed by the City, while the reviewed start/stop page does not state a routine transfer fee.

Context, not a score

How documentation coverage compares

This profile

86%

overview fields with research notes

Virginia

52%

records with any overview detail

National index

50%

records with any overview detail

Coverage measures what this directory documented. It does not measure service quality, affordability, or regulatory compliance.

Research record

Broad public detail found

6 of 7 fields in this section contain provider-specific public detail in dataset August 1, 2026.

Documented

86%

Details not confirmed in the reviewed public material

  • New-account deposit

“Not confirmed” means the directory did not identify a dependable public statement. It does not mean the provider has no policy or option.

Primary verification routes