City of Castroville Utility Billing & Customer Service
Castroville
Population reference
Approximately 4,000–5,000 residents and utility accounts in Castroville and its service area; the City publishes water, wastewater, gas, electric, and garbage billing together but does not state a single current CWS population figure.
Billing detail
Broad public detail found
Official destination
Open provider website ↗Provider-specific findings
Billing and account research from public material
Provider-specific research notes are displayed separately from fields that contain only an unavailable-information marker. Read qualifiers in each note and verify current account terms with the provider.
- Billing frequency
- Monthly. Charges are billed on the 10th day of the month following usage; the policy defines the billing period as the 28th of the previous month through the 27th of the current month. Payments are due by 5:00 p.m. on the 25th, or the next business day when applicable.
- Rate structure
- Increasing block tiers with a customer charge. The City's FY2026 water-management schedule shows residential inside-city customer charge $30 and usage blocks of $5.35 for 0–5,000 gallons, $5.67 for 5,001–10,000, $6.20 for 10,001–20,000, then higher blocks through over 50,000 gallons; separate outside-city and commercial schedules apply.
- Residential cost reference
- Using the published inside-city FY2026 schedule, water is approximately $56.75 at 5,000 gallons and $68.09 at 7,000 gallons before wastewater and other charges. The FY2024 adopted wastewater schedule lists a $30 residential customer charge plus $16.668 per thousand gallons above the two included units; if the winter-average usage is 5,000–7,000 gallons, the indicative combined water/wastewater total is roughly $137–$181 before other utility charges and any current ordinance changes.
- Wastewater and sewer calculation
- Residential wastewater uses winter averaging: actual water usage for October through January is reviewed, the two highest months are discarded, and the remaining two months are averaged. That average is billed in 1,000-gallon increments using the current fee schedule. The City policy permits staff to substitute a preceding three-year wastewater average for an isolated, verifiable leak or anomaly when the customer submits a written request within 60 days of the bill, documents the leak with a permit, plumber report, photographs, or repair receipts, and confirms the issue is resolved.
- Meter reading
- Meter data is pulled on the 27th of each month for monthly billing covering the 28th through the 27th. Meters requiring manual reads are read during the five business days before the 27th; re-reads occur during the five business days after it. The City audits meters and may estimate usage after two failed access attempts; after two consecutive failures the location may be disconnected. The policy does not identify the AMI/AMR vendor or transmission interval.
- New-account deposit
- Residential water deposit is $200; the City lists $200 each for electric and gas when those services are also opened. Commercial utility deposit is $500. Applicants provide proof of ownership or a lease. Deposits are held in a restricted account while active and refunded at termination after the final bill is deducted. The reviewed policy does not state a credit-check waiver.
- Activation or transfer fee
- New-service installation and impact fees are charged under the current Castroville Comprehensive Fee Ordinance; the reviewed policy says installation fees may reflect actual cost and distance beyond 100 feet. It does not expose a single current residential activation dollar amount. Certain spouse-death or divorce transfers can move an existing account and deposit without a new deposit when the required certificate or decree is provided.
Context, not a score
How documentation coverage compares
This profile
100%
overview fields with research notes
Texas
68%
records with any overview detail
National index
50%
records with any overview detail
Coverage measures what this directory documented. It does not measure service quality, affordability, or regulatory compliance.
Research record
Broad public detail found
7 of 7 fields in this section contain provider-specific public detail in dataset August 1, 2026.
Documented
100%
Primary verification routes
- City of Castroville Utility Billing & Customer Service public website ↗
Provider-controlled destination used to confirm current customer instructions.
- EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System ↗
Federal background on public water-system records and their limitations.
